Monday, April 25, 2016

Nominations Open for the Ricki Brown Librarian of the Year Award

Former City Librarian Ricki Brown
The Friends of the Abilene Public Library is now offering the community the chance to submit your nominations for the next Ricki Brown Librarian of the Year.  In its third year, this award was previously won in 2014 by Teresa Ellis from Hardin-Simmons University, and in 2015 by Kristy Compton from the Abilene Independent School District.

Now is the time for you to nominate another librarian in the Abilene community to recognize him/her for their outstanding leadership and accomplishment in library science.  Nominations will be accepted through June 15, 2016.  A winner will then be selected by a review committee from the Friends of the Library and the winner will be announced at the West Texas Book Festival's Boots & Books Luncheon hosted in September.
2014 Recipient, Teresa Ellis (Center) - HSU
To nominate a librarian, he/she must:
  • Hold an MLS degree or be a certified school/media specialist
  • Hold a membership in a professional library association
  • Be employed, at the time of selection, in any field of librarianship in Abilene, TX

2015 Recipient, Kristy Compton (Center) - AISD
The nominator will need to answer a series of questions relating to their nominee in detail covering a range of topics such as how the individual encourages reading, demonstrates the value of libraries, enhances library service, promotes a positive climate in the library, advances community relations, as well as highlight a new program or service initiated in the past 18 months.

We hope to receive some great nominations this year and you won't want to miss out on your opportunity to nominate a local librarian you believe is doing an incredible job.

This award was named after Ricki V. Brown, the former City Librarian for the Abilene Public Library system, who passed away in December 2013.

No comments:

Post a Comment