Friday, July 1, 2016

Summer Weekend Reads from Your Library

Are you looking for some great reads to enjoy this weekend?  If so, join us on Fridays and we'll supply you with a few recommendations of titles that may be of interest to you, and great for summer reading.  Plus, be sure to record the titles you read for our Adult Raffle to turn in to any library location.  We'll be giving away prizes throughout the summer, leading to a grand prize giveaway for a FREE iPad.  After all, someone has to win it...that someone could be you.

The Rules of Love & Grammar
Author: Mary Simses
Call Number: F SIMSES
About the Book: This is a fun read for fans of Mary Kay Andrews, Elin Hilderbrand, and Jennifer Close.  In this book, newly jobless, newly single, and suddenly apartmentless, writer Grace Hammond has come unmoored.  A grammar whiz that's brilliant at correcting other people's errors, she hasn't yet found the right set of rules for fixing her own mistakes.  Desperate to escape the city, Grace hits pause and retreats to her Connecticut hometown.  What begins as a short visit with her parents however quickly becomes a far more meaningful stay as she discovers that the answers to what her future holds might be found by making peace the past. 

Gardening with Less Water
Author: David Bainbridge
Call Number: 635.9 BAI
About the Book: Is the rainy summer here to stay?  As a seasoned West Texan you may be thinking drought is right around the corner, and you might be right.  This book on water conservation, specifically for gardens, is for anyone looking to keep their vegetables and flowers in peak condition this summer.  This title offers simple, inexpensive, low-tech techniques for watering your garden more efficiently, using up to 90 percent less water.  With illustrated step-by-step instructions, David Bainbridge shows you how to install buried clay pots and pipes, wicking systems, and other porous containers that deliver water directly to a plant's roots with little to no evaporation. 

The English Son
Author: Wanda & Jean Brunstetter
Call Number: F BRUNSTETTER
About this Book: Award-winning Christian fiction author Wanda Brunstetter has a new six part series co-written with her daughter in law Jean.  Set in Ohio's Holmes County the first book in this exciting new series, The English Son is available at all library locations.  In this book, when Joel Byler turned eighteen, he left his Amish roots, but living the good life out in the world requires money, and he finds himself going back home to ask his wealthy and eccentric father for money - again.  But how many times can Joel expect to be welcomed back before his father's patience with him wears thin? 

Post Contributed by Anne Ellis, Branch Manager of the Mockingbird Branch of the Abilene Public Library

No comments:

Post a Comment