Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Nominations Open for Librarian of the Year

The Friends of the Abilene Public Library is accepting nominations for the 2017 Ricki Brown Librarian of the Year.  Now in its fourth year, this award has previously been won by Teresa Ellis from Hardin-Simmons University (2014), Kristy Compton from the Abilene Independent School District (2015), and Alyssa Crow from the South Branch of the Abilene Public Library (2016).

Now is the time to submit your nominations for the next award recipient, recognizing him/her for their outstanding leadership and accomplishments in library science.  Nominations will be accepted through June 15, 2017, and a winner will be selected by a review committee from the Friends of the Library.  The winner will be announced at the West Texas Book Festival's Boots & Books Luncheon in September.

To nominate a librarian, he/she must: 
  • Hold an MLS degree or be a certified school/media specialist.
  • Hold membership in a professional library association (such as TLA, ALA, etc.).
  • Be employed, at the time of selection, in any field of librarianship in Abilene, TX.
Eddy Smith Presents Award to Alyssa Crow, 2016 Recipient
Nominators will be required to answer a series of questions relating to the nominee covering a range of topics such as how the individual encourages reading, demonstrates the value of libraries, enhances library service, promotes a positive climate in the library, and more.

We hope to receive some great entries so don't miss out on your opportunity to nominate a local librarian you believe is doing an incredible job in our community, be it at a public, school, or university library.

This award created in honor of Ricki V. Brown, former City Librarian for the Abilene Public Library system, who passed away in December 2013.

No comments:

Post a Comment